How to Wear Your Granddad’s Clothes (My Guide to Thrifting)

By Morgan Blauth

If your closet is looking a little boring, or you just want to go shopping but can’t bring yourself to pay mall prices, go thrifting!  Below is my list of five best tips for successful secondhand shopping.

some cute pictures I found while thrifting
Some cute pictures I found while thrifting. Photo taken by Morgan Blauth

1.     Try things on

This is the best advice I have for new thrift shoppers. Sometimes secondhand clothes are sized differently, so don’t worry about the number on the tag. If you like something, try it on!

2.     Use this website to find thrift stores near you

one of my favorite finds for Halloween
One of my favorite finds for Halloween. Photo taken by Morgan Blauth

3.    Bring a friend

Always bring someone with you on your shopping adventures. They can help you decide if things look good on you and laugh with you at some of the crazy things you’ll find.

4.     Don’t be afraid to tailor

Sometimes you’ll find exactly what you’re looking for, but maybe it doesn’t fit quite right.  Fix it!  Cut those pants into shorts or hem the bottom of a skirt that’s too long.  You might mess up, but even on a budget, you can afford to take some risks while thrifting.

LOVE these coasters that I found while thrifting out of town
LOVE these coasters that I found while thrifting out of town. Photo taken by Morgan Blauth

5.     Carefully look items over—clothing and electronics

One of the worst things is getting home and realizing that your new shirt has a big hole in it or that the VHS player you were excited to find doesn’t even work. There is almost always a place at secondhand stores to try clothes on or to plug in electronics and test them out.

The most important thing is to have fun! If you go thrifting and it’s just not for you, that’s okay.  But don’t be intimidated, and good luck.

I would love to see what you guys have found at thrift stores, and even check out some of your favorite thrift stores, so leave a comment and share them with me!

2 thoughts on “How to Wear Your Granddad’s Clothes (My Guide to Thrifting)

  1. Morgan,
    This was a great subject to cover. I used to shy away from thrift stores, but when life takes different turns, you learn to adapt! I now love thrifting and find it exhilarating when I can find great outfits or home décor pieces at such low prices. Thanks for including the link to thethriftshopper.com, I had no idea that existed. This post was very helpful and entertaining!
    -Lindsay Johnson

    Like

  2. I always make it a point to discover the thrift shops near me whenever possible. Almost every single piece of decor in my house has come from a thrift store or a flea market. My favorite find is a set of paintings that include two small photos and one large photo. I found the two small paintings as a set at a thrift store in Sarasota, and the large one I found all the way across the country in Rockford, Illinois. They were absolutely intended to go together, and I thought it was crazy that I found the same thing at two thrift shops so far away!

    Anna Scordato

    Like

Leave a Reply

