Recipies for $20 or Less

By Madison Hart

Here are some of my favorite recipes for under $20. Feel free to comment and share your favorite $20 recipe below.

Kale Smoothie:

 This is my favorite recipe for when I’m sick. Not only is it good for restoring your health, but it’s also a great weight-loss smoothie. I had my friends try it, and they loved it too!

Taken by Madison Hart
Photo taken by Madison Hart

I know kale is not everybody’s favorite green vegetable, but if you pair it with these other ingredients, it will be delicious. This smoothie will cost you less than $15 if you shop at Target, and you’ll have enough for many servings.

  • 2 cups of roughly chopped kale
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 green apples
  • 2.5 cups of coconut water
  • 2 cups of ice
  • Fresh juice from 2 lemons

Add all of the ingredients, excluding the ice, into a blender and blend until pureed. Then add the ice, and voila!

The smoothie doesn’t smell too good, but I promise you’ll be pleasantly surprised with the taste. Not to mention, you’ll be feeling healthier.

Tacos:

 Everybody loves tacos. With the variety of ground meat available, there are so many options!

  • 1 lb. of ground meat (I used beef, but you could use chicken or turkey)
  • 1 pkg. of taco seasoning (I bought the taco seasoning from Target for under $1)
  • 1 pkg. of lettuce (You could even use a bagged salad for this)
  • 1 pkg. of shredded cheese
  • Flour tortillas or hard taco shells
  • Sour Cream

Once you brown the meat and add in the seasoning, you’re all set to go. You can put the lettuce on your taco, or make a taco salad. This meal should cost less than $20, and will last you for many days.

3 thoughts on “Recipies for $20 or Less

  1. Madison,
    I think it’s important for college students to know some budget recipes that don’t break their bank. Your examples of the smoothie and tacos were great. I make tacos at least twice a month because they are so cheap and easy to make. I try to make mine healthy by using whole wheat tortillas, low fat sour cream and ground turkey. Thanks for sharing!
    -Lindsay Johnson

    Like

  2. As you mentioned before kale is not everyone’s favorite vegetable, but I will definitely give it a try. Also, is there a possibility of substituting a few ingredients. For example, could I use 2 oranges instead of apples .
    Let me know!

    Alexandra Lallemand

    Like

Leave a Reply

