Buying in Bulk: Wholesale Grocery Shopping

By Janardan Bautista

It’s a tough world out there once you leave the convenience of on-campus dining plans.  Like most sophomores here at USF, I elected to opt out of the meal plan for my second year in an attempt to save some cash in the long run.  Before I knew it, I was taking chunks out of my schedule and wallet, trying to find the time and the best deals on groceries out there.  Not too long ago, I had a revelation: wholesale shopping could be the answer to my grocery dilemma.

Wholesale dealers like Costco and BJ’s, have phenomenal discounts on a wide variety of food and kitchen supplies.  Groceries that are better than Publix and deals that are lower than Wal-Mart.  Almost sounds too good to be true right?

Instead of spending more for less, wholesale shopping allows one to pay less for more.  Instead of making trips to Wal-Mart or Publix every week, I make a trip to Costco once every three weeks.  I save time and money, which are two things that college students know are always in short supply.

Costco memberships cost $55 for one year, which in all honesty, is completely reasonable given the amount of savings that could be made.

To maximize the payoff, my roommates and I all chipped in for a premium membership (which costs $110) to take advantage of the two percent cash back bonus.  Between the four of us and all the food we eat, we’ll at least break even, if not make a small profit off the membership; a win-win scenario.

Interested in saving time and money? Look into getting a Costco membership here.

One thought on “Buying in Bulk: Wholesale Grocery Shopping

  1. I liked that you mentioned that you and your roommates split a membership–that’s a great idea for saving money!
    I don’t think that wholesale grocery shopping would be as practical for me though because I have a bad habit of buying things at the grocery store and then never eating them. After shopping at Costco, I would probably just have a lot more food to never eat.

    -Morgan Blauth

    Like

Leave a Reply

