Moonlight Canoeing

By: Juan Soriano

My friends and I have always wanted to visit the Everglades to ride their Gulf Coast boat tour. We think it would be really amazing to be so close to the various animals that make up the Everglades ecosystem while having a great time on the water. Unfortunately, I don’t have enough time or money to go on that long distance trip any time soon. However, we can still get a similar experience by going Moonlight Canoeing.

Moonlight Canoeing is a USF Riverfront Park recreational activity that allows students to rent a canoe and travel along the Hillsborough River for up to two hours. The tickets cost $5 and a student can buy up to four tickets with their USF ID, in case they want to take friends or family that don’t attend USF.

I think this is a cheap and affordable way to allow USF students to relax and have a great time observing local wildlife such as manatees, woodpeckers, yellow rat snakes, turtles, alligators and other animals.

If students are looking for a great way to spend their evening by themselves or with company, I highly suggest taking a trip to the USF Boat House located at the Riverfront Park.

I’ve gone with a group of friends before and had a great experience. I liked being so close to the alligators and turtles while gliding down the river at a nice pace. I definitely plan on going back once I get the time.

I would love to hear about any other outdoor activities you all have tried out around campus!

If you need any further information regarding Moonlight Canoeing, you can check out all the details about it by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “Moonlight Canoeing

  1. I have always wanted to go canoeing, yet I never seem to have the time to do so. I guess I am just waiting on one of my girls to drag me by the hand! I love nature, so I would love something like this to just relax. I’m gonna have to look into going soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

