Cheap Eats on Campus

Article and Photo by Alison Hickey

Forgetting to bring breakfast, lunch or dinner on campus is pretty common for me. I am a full-time student and have a job, so I usually end up buying my meals on campus. I am also a vegetarian, so my options can sometimes be pretty limited. But, I’ve found a few gems during my time at USF that are a quick way to satisfy your hunger, as well as your wallet.

If you’re looking for something to eat for breakfast, you can usually get good food at Einstein’s Bagels for less than $5. You can grab one of their yogurt parfaits, a bagel with schmear or just a fruit. Any of these options, combined with a simple hot or iced coffee, can be a good way to start your day.

For a quick snack, just to hold you over, buying an XL water from the food court in the Marshall Student Center will only cost you 27 cents. If you go to Moe’s you can get a bag of tortilla chips with a side of queso, which will only come out to be roughly $1. 

For dinner, there really is no replacement for the dining halls. Even if you don’t have a meal plan, $9 for an endless buffet can go a long way. If you have a long break, going in for a late lunch and hanging out to enjoy dinner as well can get you two meals for the price of one.

Getting food on campus can be hard when you’re on a budget. It’s not something that anyone should get into a habit of, especially if you’re on a tight budget like myself, but if you find yourself on campus and very hungry, check out some of these options, or post your favorite below.

3 thoughts on “Cheap Eats on Campus

  1. Dinning Halls are great for people who are hungry and need to eat a whole lot. Whenever I think of the dinning halls on campus, I always forget Champions Choice I don’t know why. Champions choice is a good place to eat on campus and also, Pollo Tropical. You can get combos and such!
    Just laying that out there!
    -Vanessa Okor

    Like

  2. This is really great for students who live on campus and use a meal plan because it’s importance to budget out your meals and dining dollars otherwise you’ll run out to quickly. I think something great to add onto this would be to talk about Moe’s Monday. A great deal where you can get any burrito, chips, and a drink for $5.99. What do you think?
    – Monika Patel

    Like

  3. Loved this post! I commute from Lakeland and typically head over right after work so I never have time to pack snacks or a meal before heading to campus and will usually end up getting something from the vending machine that is unhealthy and not filling or spending $6 on a drink from Starbucks so I’m glad to see there are other options for me that provide more bang for my buck!

    Samantha Villanueva

    Like

Leave a Reply

